Windows installation process for a noob

Hello !
I have tried the demo on the website version of Vikunja and I am really impressed !
Now, I would like to use the Windows version on my laptop. Since I don’t need to manage multiple accounts or devices, is it really required to also install the backend part? I am an absolute noob and I really don’t understand the backend installation process described in the documentation.
So, if the backend part is not essential in my case, what should I enter in the Sign in to your Vikunja account on field? A local folder path?
If the backend is absolutely necessary, is there someone patient enough to explain the backend installation process to me?
Thank you !

Hi! :wave:

Pretty much all of Vikunja’s logic happens on the api side (=the backend) so you will need to connect to it. For your specific case, there’s three possible solutions:

1. Use vikunja.cloud once it’s launched (should be ready in a few weeks). This would be the easiest variant.
  2. Install the windows api binary on your laptop and use it locally only. For that, it should be pretty much only getting the binary and running it somewhere. You will need to always start that if you want to use Vikunja and you’ll need to make sure to have good backups of the database file. I don’t really know anything about conveniently running services like these on windows, so I’m not sure how much I could help you there - would be a lot of trial and error.
  3. Get a raspberry pi and install Vikunja on it. Put it in your network and use it from there.

I succeeded to launch Vikunja locally, as @kolaente proposed it, on windows. This seems to be the fastest/easiest way to use Vikunja for new users, but it has the inconvenient of not being accessible outside of your computer.

I’ll quickly post the guide here for future interested users :

1. Go on this page and download the back-end binaries for windows (like vikunja-v0.17.0-windows-4.0-amd64.exe-full.