Vikunja Dark Mode

I think it would be nice to have a Dark Mode (I am using Dark Mode in almost every app that allows me too, and I find it way more confortable for the eyes, especially when we spend hours in front of screens).
Mind if I play a bit with CSS and post the result in a few days? :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Dark mode is a recurring feature request :slight_smile:

Unfortunately, it is kind of blocked by

Having proper css variables in bulma would make this rather easy to add
so Iā€™d like to wait until we have those. On the other hand, the issue
has been open for more than 6 months now without much progress so we
might as well go ahead and implement that ourselves.

1 Like

This is my number one ā€˜thing to tackle nextā€™ too. Having been near blinded tinkering with vikunja-desktop at 11pm a week or so ago =D
Busy with work for the next 2 or 3 weeks thoughā€¦

I have no experience with Bulma either.

1 Like

Thanks. One thing ā€œeasyā€ to do (as in I know how to do it) but not sure if ā€œbestā€ is to overlay a CSS file on top of Vikunjaā€™s CSS. I can try and see what I can do with it.
This brings me to one question: Vikunja is not open source, right? So, how are these potential modifications seen by the core devs? Just wondering, donā€™t want to mess anything :slight_smile:

Oh it is Open-Source :slight_smile: (just wondering, how have you found Vikunja if not through the usual oss channels?)

Iā€™d accept a pr for that but keep in mind it would only be a workaround until thereā€™s a proper solution in bulma. As such, it could break in future versions which would then require new PRs (aka I wouldnā€™t really maintain it) :upside_down_face:

Ok! (first saw Vikunja in this amazing list ā€“ so many things to play around! - GitHub - awesome-selfhosted/awesome-selfhosted: A list of Free Software network services and web applications which can be hosted on your own servers).